The Importance of the Priory
Christchurch Priory and the surrounding grounds and river walks provide the town with a rich cultural and religious heritage. The Town Council Grant of Arms clearly portrays a vista of the Priory as the crest on the Coat of Arms. Also present on the shield is the cross form at the apex of the red chevron, and the Chi-Rho monogram is present on the crown. It is clear that the Priory is the foundation stone for the Town and community of Christchurch.
Both the Priory and the Town Council hold shared celebrations and occasions such as the annual Remembrance Service and Civic Services.
© All images Copyright The Town Clerk
The Priory Building itself
A monastery has existed at Christchurch before the Conquest and this is recorded in the Doomsday Book. Since 1094 and through the offices of Ranulf Flambard – a chief minister of King William II (Rufus) – there has been an ecclesiastical building on the site of the old Saxon Priory. Over the centuries as can be expected there have been numerous additions and alterations. The Priory building itself is a Grade 1 Listed Building.
For more information about the history of the Priory building please do visit the Christchurch Priory website.
Parish of Christchurch, Dorset. Diocese of Winchester. (christchurchpriory.org)
The Priory Church is open for visitors and private worship from 9:30am – 5pm every day.
The Tea Rooms and Gift Shop are open from 10am – 4:30pm every day.
For more information about car-parking and disability access please do refer to the Priory website.
The grounds include the monastic lawns to the rear of the Priory as well as allowing the opportunity to walk alongside the river and onto the Quayside.